11.1 General

The Department of Parking and Transportation offers a wide range of services that provide access to and mobility within the University of Iowa campus. These services are offered to faculty, staff, students, patients, visitors, and to other members of the general public. The department consists of three separate divisions: Parking, Cambus, and Fleet Services (see V-19). All divisions report to the Director of Parking and Transportation, who also advises on institutional roads, campus planning and land use, strategic property acquisition, and other transportation-related issues. The department is structured organizationally under the Senior Vice President for Finance and Operations and is administratively responsible to the Assistant Vice President for Business Services.

Departmental policies are reviewed by a University charter committee known as the Parking and Transportation Committee (see I-2.8(16)). This body advises on fees, regulations, planning, and other policies that may govern the department.