8.9 Committee on the Conflict of Interest in Employment

The Committee shall consist of four members appointed by the Faculty Senate and three members appointed by the Staff Council. Members of the Committee shall be appointed for staggered three-year terms but no person may be appointed for more than two consecutive terms. The Associate Provost for Faculty and the Chief Human Resources Officer or their designees shall serve as co-chairs of the Committee. Decisions of the Committee shall be by majority vote of the Committee members voting on the decision. Committee members shall not participate in the development and approval of a management plan or the oversight of a management plan if a) they are related to either of the related individuals; b) they participated in the development of the management plan in their unit of employment; c) their conditions of employment could be affected by a management plan; or d) some other conflict of interest exists.

All meetings and deliberations of the Committee shall be confidential and all written materials reviewed by the Committee or other persons involved in the development of a management plan, shall be considered part of the personnel files of the related individuals, and also shall be confidential. One of the Committee's co-chairs shall keep on file the Committee's official copy of all management plans. Any information disclosed by either of the related individuals for the purpose of developing the management plan shall be used solely for that purpose. However, faculty, staff, and students who are in a position to be affected significantly by a conflict of interest in employment shall be informed of the existence of the management plan, and shall be provided with information regarding the appropriate person(s) to whom they may bring relevant concerns. In most cases, this will be the first neutral supervisor for faculty and staff, although departmental human resource representatives or the Director of Undergraduate or Graduate Studies may be the more appropriate person for staff and students, respectively, in some units.