III-1.2 Classifications of University Staff

(Amended 8/4/20)

Effective August 4, 2020, this policy has been revised. For the most current version without redlining, return to III-1.2.

  1. Classifications. For personnel purposes, there are four five classifications of University employees: faculty, professional and scientific non-bargaining staff, professional and scientific bargaining (SEIU) staff, bargaining-eligible merit system staff, and merit supervisory exempt/confidential staff.
  2. Fair Labor Standards Act. Faculty and professional and scientific staff are generally exempt from the provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act. Merit System staff are covered under the minimum wage, overtime, record keeping, and other provisions of the law.